• Directions
Inspections and Enforcement

Sarah E. Keifer, AICP   - Director

555 Bay Road, Dover, DE 19901

(302) 744-2451 / 2452 / Fax: (302) 736-2123

Email:   Inspections@KentCountyDE.gov


Office Hours: 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.  Mon. - Fri.


**Now available online!**

> Apply For Building Permits 

> Report Potential Violations 

Bigstock Magnifying Glass House Search 27511238

Building Permits
Manufactured Housing
Adopted Building Codes
Code Enforcement
Municipal Information

Permit Requirements 

Sample Plans 

Adopted Codes  

Enforcement Q & A's 

Flood Zone                    Requirements 

Forms & Policies 

- Building Code Review    Committee

- Board of Appeals

- Bid Proposals &           RFP's

- Grass Bid Proposals 





HOA and Building          Permits

- Commercial Fee            Schedule

Adopted Codes 

Enforcement Q & A's

State of Delaware 

  Municipalities (Kent


Mission Statement: 

  • The mission of the Inspections and Enforcement Division is to ensure the quality of life for the citizens of Kent County through the enforcement of all County and State mandated codes to protect the public health, safety, and welfare.


Goals and Objectives: 

  • To maintain quality customer service through continual staff development and monitoring of performance and customer feedback and to continue the random mailing of customer service questionnaires to acquire customer feedback.  More than 7,500 customer contacts were provided in fiscal year 2019.
  • To expand distribution of important timely information to customers through a variety of media including quarterly newsletters, technical brochures, and the Internet.
  • To maintain a highly qualified, professional staff with national certifications through continual training and testing as necessary to attain proficiency in applications of adopted codes, technological advances in construction standards and trades, and related fields of service.  Currently, there are 40 national certifications among a staff of 14.  Our goal for fiscal year 2021 is to encourage and guide our staff members to obtain their national certifications each.

Permits are required for several reasons.  The most important being that they insure that the structure(s) are being built to code and are safe for human occupancy.   Read More...


The mission of the Manufactured Housing Program is to meet the needs of the citizens of Kent County by providing services relating to manufactured housing.  The program also carries out demolitions of unsafe, unsightly manufactured homes and in doing so; helps to beautify the landscape of the County.



  • To issue all manufactured housing permits within a 72-hour time frame.
  • To remove or cause to be removed five (5) derelict or abandoned manufactured houses a month.
  • To conduct semi-annual sweeps of Kent County to locate and cause derelict or abandoned manufactured homes to be removed.
  • To work with other departments and agencies to establish means to track manufactured in the County, more frequently,
  • To work with the Tax Office to determine and establish means to collect delinquent taxes on manufactured homes.

For a full list of adopted building codes click here.


The Kent County Enforcement officers handle a variety and a large number of complaints.  A large number of complaints never warrant becoming violations, however the staff of three code enforcement officers handle all complaints in a timely and professional manner.

Towns Which Require Their Own Permits

No Permits Required From the County

  • Camden
  • Cheswold - Effective 04/07/2008
  • Clayton - Effective 05/24/2010
  • Dover
  • Harrington - Effective 01/04/2010
  • Milford
  • Smyrna
  • Wyoming


Towns Which County Issues Permits, Does Not Enforce Zoning

These Towns Require Town Permit or Town Letter of Approval

  • Bowers
  • Frederica
  • Hartly
  • Farmington
  • Kenton
  • Magnolia
  • Felton
  • Leipsic
  • Woodside
  • Houston


Towns Which The County Issues Permits and Enforces Town Zoning

These Require a Town Permit or Town Letter of Approval

  • Little Creek - Effective 04/23/2008
  • Viola - Effective 03/15/2005

Towns Which the County Enforces Flood Zones

  • Bowers
  • Felton - Effective 04/30/2008
  • Frederica
  • Leipsic
  • Little Creek

Municipal Contacts

  • Camden --------- (302) 697-2299
  • Clayton ----------- (302) 653-8419
  • Dover ------------- (302) 736-7010
  • Farmington ----- (302) 519-0085
  • Felton ------------ (302) 284-9365
  • Frederica -------- (302) 335-5417
  • Hartly ------------- (302) 922-2814
  • Kenton ----------- (302) 389-8270
  • Leipsic ---------- (302) 736-0595
  • Little Creek ----- (302) 734-3883
  • Milford ----------- (302) 424-3712
  • Smyrna ---------- (302) 653-9231
  • Viola -------------- (302) 284-3281
  • Woodside ------- (302) 531-6883
  • Wyoming --------- (302) 697-2966
Home | Directions | Commissioners | Contact Us | Employment | Legal Notice | Webmaster

555 Bay Rd Dover, DE 19901

Copyright © 2013, All rights reserved.